Tennessee AHEAD

Did you miss the annual meeting? Check out the opening audio in the player below. Also, here are the transcript (unedited) and the chat.

News and Updates

Job Openings

  • 2021 Membership Meeting - Pt. 132:53
  • 2021 Membership Meeting - Pt. 232:50

University of Tennessee - Martin
Manager Disability And Testing Services 

The University of Tennessee at Martin is accepting applications for a Manager of Disability Services and Testing Center.  This position provides leadership for, and oversight of the Office of Disability Services and Testing Center operations, programs and services delivery. Office of Disability Services responsibilities include ensuring the University is in compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the American with Disabilities Act of 1990, State and University policies and procedures by identifying, facilitating and coordinating accommodations for students with disabilities for academic and co-curricular activities sponsored by the University. Testing Center responsibilities include providing testing services for university required tests, placement tests, and testing for any other contracted or specialized testing service.

•    Provide strategic leadership to Disability Services and Testing by staying abreast of best practices in disability, accommodations and testing 
•    Provide oversight of intake of requests for accommodations and data regarding students registering with Disability Services
•    Develop, review, and recommend policies to ensure compliance with federal regulations and provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act as Amended and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973
•    Maintain an effective case management system (AIM) for students with approved accommodations including case tracking, review, and analysis
•    Serve as a key voice in advocating for, and addressing, institution wide accessibility issues. 
•    Responsible for the acquisition, maintenance, and coordination of the use of adaptive equipment, technology, and software
•    Manage testing daily operations to include scheduling, proctoring, tracking data, and maintaining computers within testing center
•    Provide consultative assistance, training and/or technical assistance to the campus community on issues and policies related to testing and disabilities
•    Develop relationships, maintains partnerships, serves as lead testing administrator, and ensures compliance with external agencies regarding testing 
•    Supervise, train, schedule, and evaluate all departmental staff to include 1 exempt, 3 non-exempt, 1 GA and 3 student workers
•    Prepare, administer, and manage the operating budget and expenditures related to Disability Services and Testing            
•    Perform analysis and reporting to support decision-making
•    Ensure department is following proper fiscal policies and procedures for the expenditure of funds 
•    Manage the collection, security, and accounting of fees and contract revenue collected by the Testing Center
•    Request, review, negotiate and process contracts/agreements for disability and testing services
•    Serve as disability accommodations expert to faculty and staff 
•    Collaborate with Physical Plant to plan and implement modification of facilities to ensure ADA compliance
•    Oversee requests from the public for disability accommodations (such as sign language interpreting a university sponsored events); develop assessment initiatives and reporting;
•    Collect and analyze customer satisfaction, usage, placement, outcomes assessment, and related data to improve Testing Center services 
•    Serve on various committees and organizations both internal and external 
•    Perform other duties as assigned

Minimum Qualifications:
•    Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology, Social Work, Education, Counseling or a related degree
•    3 to 5 year experience working in the area of disability accommodations
•    Experience supervising professional staff
•    Strong working knowledge of Section 504 of Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and Section 508 of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 requirements of higher education
•    Strong communication skills both written and oral
•    Ability to exercise critical thinking and sound judgment
•    Strong analytical capabilities
•    Strong organizational skills
•    Skill to work with and use assistive technology

Preferred Qualifications: 
•    Master’s Degree in Psychology, Social Work, Education, Counseling or a related degree
•    Experience working with student with disabilities in a higher education setting.

Application Process: Application materials must include: 1) a letter of interest stating how the candidate’s experiences and qualifications connect with the required/preferred characteristics expressed in the position profile; 2) a resume; and 3) the names, addresses, telephone numbers, and email addresses of five references for future contact, noting the professional relationship with each reference listed. 
Application Deadline: Review of applications will continue until the position is filled 
Salary commensurate with education and experience
To view Annual Security & Fire Report - http://www.utm.edu/departments/publicsafety/index.php

Middle Tennessee State University
Job Title - Coordinator - Disability/Access
Department - Disability and Access Center

$40,194 - $49,775; commensurate with experience

Job Summary/Basic Function
The Coordinator DAC provides direct services to students registered with the DAC, including assessment, advising, and referral in all matters related to accessibility to campus services. Additionally, the Coordinator is responsible for creating and implementing a comprehensive testing program to provide accessibility to all students in meeting testing requirements of the academic classroom. Essential tasks include: meet with individual students and their family members to help them enroll for services, review needs for accommodations, review medical documentation, and make recommendations regarding available support services; interface with faculty to coordinate classroom services for students; implement, coordinate and provide oversight for all activities associated with testing accessibility, including maintaining and implementing approved procedures associated with the testing process, consistent interaction with faculty regarding test implementation, overseeing test scheduling, supervising test coordinators, and directly proctoring tests when needed; respond to DAC related questions via telephone and in person; and perform other related duties and special projects as assigned. The Coordinator reports directly to the Director of the Disability and Access Center.

 More information may be found at https://careers.mtsu.edu/en-us/job/495407/coordinator-disabilityaccess